O'Malley Tunstall PLLC
Call 24-hours a day Free consultation No Fees Unless we Win
800-755-1987
Offices in Raleigh, North Carolina, and Eastern North Carolina

Automobile Injury in North Carolina: Types of Automobile Insurance

Most people are aware there is a requirement that to have an automobile in North Carolina you must carry at least minimum liability limits. The North Carolina Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles requires to meet the required minimum limits coverage that you must have at least the following amount of insurance protection: $30,000 of coverage for injuries or death involving one person in a single accident. $60,000 of coverage for injuries or deaths involving two or more people in a single accident. $25,000 of property damage coverage. This minimum liability coverage comes into play when you are the at fault driver in a motor vehicle collision in which there is bodily injury or property damage. With medical bills for a simple Emergency Room in the range of $1,500 to over $2,000.00 on average depending on the condition the $30,000.00 limit an be quickly exhausted. Many people also carry medical payment coverage. Medical payment coverage (med pay) is no fault insurance covering the owners or passengers in a vehicle regardless of fault reimbursing medical expenses and lost wages. It is often some of the cheapest and most useful insurance coverage and can be typically sold in amounts from $500.00 to $25,000.00. Higher amounts are sold by some companies. Joe Tunstall describes automobile insurance from an attorneys prospective. In North Carolina drivers and owners of vehicles are also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage. N.C.G.S. 20-279. Uninsured motorist coverage provides insurance when the at fault driver is driving a motor vehicle without current liability insurance. The limits for uninsured motorist coverage range from North Carolina minimum limits of $30,000.00 per person to $1million. Of course the price is dependent upon amount of coverage purchased. In case of a serious injury where the other person carries some amount less than the amount to reimburse for the damages, you can purchase underinsured motorist coverage. N.C.G.S. 20-279.21(b)(4). Underinsured motorist coverage is typically some amount between $50,000.00 and $1 million in coverage. Undersinsured motorist coverage is paid when the injury is greater than the amount of the defendants liability coverage and you have purchased an amount of coverage greater than the defendant's insurance coverage.  

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Contextual Contextaul Contextaul
Contextaul Contextaul Contextaul
Contextaul Contextaul Contextaul
Contextaul Contextaul Contextaul
Contextaul Contextaul Contextaul
Contextaul Contextaul Contextaul
Contextaul Contextaul Contextaul

Free Initial Consultations. No Attorney Fees Unless We Win.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Lead Counsel Rated | LC
Call 24-hours a day We’ll Come To You No Attorney Fees Unless we Win
Review Us

Raleigh Office
8300 Falls of Neuse Road, Suite 108
Raleigh, NC 27615

Toll Free: 800-755-1987
Phone: 919-277-0150
Fax: 252-641-9009
Raleigh Law Office Map

Tarboro Office
405 North Main Street
Tarboro, NC 27886

Toll Free: 800-755-1987
Phone: 252-823-2266
Fax: 252-641-9009
Tarboro Law Office Map